Friday 23 January 2015

Diff. Between C.A & B.Com.


Diff. Between CA nd B.Com

Question: How many balls are there in an over?

Answer: 6

Full Marks

If this were a CA exam question

The answer would be WRONG and the examiner's comment in the suggested answers would be

"Most of the students answered the questions. However, students have not understood the questions correctly. Answer points to a lack of in-depth understanding and conceptual clarity on the subject. Correct answer is 1 ball which is delivered 6 times, if the umpire(as defined under bye law 19 of Rule 2) did not declare any no ball in all those deliveries.

In case the umpire, as defined above, declares a No Ball as defined in the Byelaws 24 Rule 3 of the Laws of Cricket (Lords), then there will be an additional ball delivered, using the same ball, for every no ball declared by the umpire.

Note that such additional balls will not be counted towards the number of balls".

Similarly for a wide ball under Byelaw 25 Rule 3 of the Laws of Cricket (Lords) an additional ball will be delivered for every wide ball declared by the umpire.

Thus keeping in view the Rules 19, 24 25 of the Laws of Cricket(Lords) the answer is 1 ball.

However, if the ball used for the said deliveries suffers or undergoes such transformation or such other changes which, the umpire, on an appeal being made by the bowler, deems unfit for use, the ball may be changed/replaced with another one. Only in such a case, will there be use of multiple balls in an over.

(The student may assume that the batsmen did not hit a sixer, thereby forcing the ball to go out of the park causing another ball to be used)''

No comments:

Post a Comment